On the ninth day of Christmas. . .

Happy 2012! Can it really be five months since I wrote my last post? I’ve thought about writing so many times and, yet, I did not make the time. When I began writing, it was a way for me to find the quietness that seems so elusive in my life.

I spent this evening re-organizing my home office. The cold and snow seem a world away as I find warmth and solace up here in my special room. How fitting, I think, that I write just a short note to rekindle the spark within me that yearns for quiet.

Today is the ninth day of Christmas. My true love gave to me, “Nine ladies dancing.” Did you know that “the Twelve Days of Christmas is probably the most misunderstood part of the church year among Christians who are not part of liturgical church traditions. Contrary to popular belief, these are not the twelve days before Christmas, but in most of the Western Church are the twelve days from Christmas until the beginning of Epiphany  (January 6th; the 12 days count from December 25th until January 5th).” (Dennis Bratcher)

It’s been suggested that this otherwise silly song was intended as instructional for the early Christians. Mr. Bratcher contends that it may be a myth, but still, it’s worthy of consideration. Hence, the partridge in a pear tree represents Jesus Christ, whose birthday we celebrate December 25th; two turtle doves represent the Old and New Testaments, and so on. How fitting that I decided to start writing again on the ninth day. The nine ladies dancing represent  the nine fruits of the Holy Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. (Galatians 5:22-23). This is one of my favorite Bible passages. For me, it is the greatest guide for living and, of course, not always easy to espouse.

I will take it as serendipitous that I am writing on the ninth day of Christmas for the first time in five months. I like the idea of events and circumstances being signs, so I’ll take all of this as a sign that I will recommit to pursuing the quiet moments of reflection I find when I write.

I’ve made just one new year’s resolution: I will be kinder to myself in all circumstances and I will stop any negative self talk. That may seem trite but for me it will be a challenge.

I guess that’s it for now. Just a starting point. I have so much to write about…but there will be many winter nights ahead for that.

 

This entry was posted in In pursuit of quietness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the ninth day of Christmas. . .

  1. ermodi says:

    Welcome back! Glad you are writing again and your resolution sounds just right!!! Our priest talked about the meaning of this song during Christmas Eve mass. I had not heard that before but I thought it was interesting….until he made us sing the whole thing!

    Peace and blessings to you this winter season! There is nothing better than curling up to write with a mug of hot coco!

  2. Chuck DeSantis says:

    Welcome back, Ro.

    Dig deep . . .

  3. roz says:

    I like the resolution rosie you so don’t deserve the negative talk. Love you gf.

  4. Whoo Hoo! I’m glad you’re back. I missed you.

  5. Valerie Steverson says:

    So glad to see your blog again…and love your new years resolution! Let’s all try to do that for ourselves and each other. I’m going to say “I love you” more…and Rosemarie, I love you!

  6. Do says:

    And, Dad left us on the 12th Day of Christmas. To me Little Christmas will always remind me of Dad…for his love of that holiday and his love of his family…Love you, Ro and Chuck.

Leave a Reply

