Hippity-Hop Lazy Easter Monday

A couple of weeks ago I decide to take a vacation day today, anticipating feeling fatigued from Easter Sunday entertaining. Good decision. Except fatigue is more like exhaustion! I sometimes forget that at almost 61, I don’t have the same level of energy I did in my thirties, forties and even fifties. Then add my ever-growing family to the mix. Stir in my sister and her entire family, and you’ve got twenty people, a houseful! Granted, four are very little people, but still.  And, my two sons and their families are spending Easter with their in-laws so the crowd isn’t as big at it would be with full attendance.

This morning I sleep in. I awake at seven and realize I don’t need to get up. I resist the urge to look at my Blackberry. Frank leaves early for his part-time job. I pull the comforter up to my neck. It feels wonderful as I snuggle in for a couple more hours of sleep. Except that when I wake the second time, I am groggy and even more sleepy. I put off, as long as possible, the idea that I need to pull back the covers, plant my feet on the floor and get up. The old Newton’s first law — a body at rest tends to stay at rest! If you know me well, you know I love to sleep. Today is no exception, except that being in bed  while the rest of the world goes back to work and school feels deliciously indulgent!

Eventually, I decide to rise and shine. Well, to rise anyway. I shuffle into the bathroom. I turn on the shower and wait for the water to warm. I step in and feel the water flow over me lovingly. It is a wonderful feeling. It is, finally, the antidote to my sleepiness. I finish my shower, get dressed, dry my hair and head downstairs for some morning joe. I sit at the kitchen table, expanded to full size with leaves to accommodate yesterday’s crowd. I find myself daydreaming about long dinner tables in movies and television shows. The tables owned by the very rich, where a butler or maid, serves coffee and breakfast. Mr. and Mrs. practically shout to one another from one end of the table to the other. Nice fantasy. I read Sunday’s paper, mostly interested in the soft news. I don’t want to ruin my fantasy with reminders of what’s going on in the world.

I call to check on the status of my car in the shop. Still not ready. Stuck here with no wheels. Too bad, or is it? I talk to my friend, Ginny, for a few minutes about an upcoming plan to travel to Washington with my grandson. Then I head up to my office.

I sit at my computer, wrapped in a cocoon of quietness and safety. Too chilly to open windows, the outside sounds are muffled. The only sounds I hear are the chimes of the grandfather clock in the foyer and the wall clocks I have in my kitchen and great room. I love the ticking and chiming sounds of clocks.

I spend the better part of the next several hours reading other people’s blogs. There is so much good stuff out in cyberspace. Making new friends through my blog. People who share similar feelings and muse about life and its meaning.  Despite the negativity sometimes associated with the Internet, I continue to be amazed at the amount of goodness I read on other blogs.

People from all parts of the world share their thoughts and feelings through blogging. This sharing may bring comfort and enlightenment to others at a time of need. Of course, I am not naïve enough to think that there are so many that write about hatred and evil. But I have a free will, and I choose to seek out those who write with goodness, kindness, patience, humility, sadness, integrity, honor, and love.

I take a short break from my web reading to watch YouTube videos. My grandson, Cam, after spending last night and today with his grandfather, stops here before returning home. Cam and I decide to watch silly YouTube videos. There is one he especially likes which we’ve watched together the last few years at Easter time. I share it with you today. Perhaps you’ve seen it, but go ahead and indulge yourself and watch it again!

Relaxation replaces exhaustion as I continue my web surfing. I cannot think of a better way to pursue quietness than I have on this Easter Monday. It makes me wish tomorrow was also a vacation day!

This entry was posted in In pursuit of quietness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hippity-Hop Lazy Easter Monday

  1. Thom Brown says:

    No sleeping in here – back to work, but I was rested anyway. Our Italian gathering (except for me and one other) was at my brother-in-law’s. So … we had it easy. All I had to do was eat, visit, and go home.

  2. Italian traditions are the best. Does your wife’s family make lamb or cheese pies? When I was young, my grandma made lamb, but these days it’s ham for dinner.

  3. You are so blessed! I can’t sleep in even when the opportunity offers 😦 Sounds like a wonderful way to spend the day…R&R full force!

  4. Alejandro says:

    A shower is the only way I wake up! I just wish they’d tell me before being pushed in it.

    Gorgeous post

    A

Leave a Reply

