May You Find Your Way in Peace

Hug your children. Kiss your special someone. Love until it hurts. Most important, don’t take your loved ones for granted. Life is short.

I can’t seem to get Jennifer Simson off my mind. I didn’t know Jennifer or her family. This past Friday afternoon, she was killed when she was run over by a snowplow in a Pittsford parking lot. I struggle moving past the tragedy of it all.

Jennifer was 34 years old and seemed to have her whole life ahead of her. The mother of three young children was meeting her husband, Josh, at a realtor’s office to close on their new home. He has done multiple tours of duty in Iraq and was due to go back in the near future.

Frank and I have children the same age as Jennifer and Josh. Our grandchildren are the same age as Jennifer’s. I saw her dad weep openly on the news. Hard to watch. Even harder to imagine.

Last night Frank played cards with his buddies. One of them is a neighbor of the Simson family. This morning Frank talked with me about it. He shared with Frank that the Simson house was a flurry of activity over the last couple of days. He went to visit with Josh Simson, who is overcome with grief at his loss. Frank and I talked for a while about the family who has experienced such a tragic loss.  Then we thanked God for our blessings –our children and our grandchildren.

Sometimes I get wrapped up in my day-to-day troubles. I guess everyone does. Then I hear a story like this one, and I remember all the grace and goodness that is my life.

How often I find myself speaking with a “sharp tongue” to the people I love the most. An old song titled, “You Always Hurt the One You Love,”  made the expression popular. It’s true, at least it’s true for me. I can think of many times when my words were hurtful or my actions unloving. I wish I could go back in time and try again. Unfortunately, that is impossible. The most I can hope for is forgiveness. And, because my friends and family love me, I am usually forgiven. Still, that does not change the notion that I should be slow to anger and quick to love, especially with the people I love most on this earth.

Jennifer Simson’s untimely death may not be in vain. If her tragic story touches others, as it has touched me, then she has given us a priceless gift.

Frank and I spend a lot of time with our family. Sometimes people think we spend too much time with them. I think not. There is never enough time to drink in the love and laughter, the tears and the sadness, the good and the bad. My family means everything to me. I need to remember to tell them that more often.

Rest in peace Jennifer. I looked on YouTube for this song. I heard it several years ago, and I’ve always loved it.

This entry was posted in In pursuit of quietness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May You Find Your Way in Peace

  1. bbrasley says:

    Thanks for the great reminder to never let a day go by without telling my family members how much I love them.

  2. Scott DeSantis says:

    What an exciting blog today, as you know we have had a rough time this past week and I have come to a new look on things.

  3. jessbarz says:

    Your blog reminded me of the song “Hey Hey Hey” from Michael Franti & Spearhead. The chorus of the song goes, “No matter how life is today/ There is just one thing I have to say/ Before I let another moment slip away.” Your post reminded me that we should not let one more moment slip away before we say what we need to say to each other.

  4. Tina Simson says:

    Thank you for sharing this. The music and clip were perfect, as Josh is a veteran of two deployments to Iraq. Jennifer was the military wife and mom who holds the world on her shoulders. Josh is my son, I’m the grandma. We are held by the love of family and friends. The only thing stronger than loss is love.

Leave a Reply

