Why You Are Special in God’s Eyes and Mine…..a love letter

My granddaughter, Ella June, is preparing to receive the sacraments of Confirmation and First Communion. She asked her Ta (grandpa) to be her sponsor. Tomorrow Ta and Ella will attend an all-day retreat as part of her preparation. Special people in Ella’s life were asked to write her a letter affirming our feelings for her as a child of God.

I just wrote my letter. It’s late and the house is quiet. I am writing to a precocious 8-year old, and I considered, briefly, just how and what I should write that would be meaningful enough to provoke thought and reflection on her part. Fortunately, I decided to let my fingers type whatever came to my mind. I am happy with the letter and, since I am saving my blogs for my family, I decided to make it a blog entry.

April, 2011

Dear Ella Bella,

I love to call you Bella, because it’s the Italian word for beautiful, and you are a very beautiful girl.

You are my first granddaughter and that makes you pretty special. You are always going to have all your girl cousins looking up to you. Anna Rose always wants to do whatever you do because she loves you so much. Just like I do.

I love so many things about you, I probably couldn’t fit them all on this page, but let me tell you some of them.

I love that you are such a Princess. Ta taped the Royal Wedding for me, and I will save it because I think you would love to see the new Princess. She is almost as pretty as you are.

I love you because you love all your babies so much. Chrissa, Kit and all your other dolls are very special to you. And, you take such good care of them.

I love you because you love your family so much and especially Ta, because he is very special to me too.

I love you because you love to dance and have me make a movie of you.

I love you because you love Justin Bieber as much as I do.

I love you because you love to dress up and be “girly.”

I love you because you talk a lot and it reminds me of Aunt Amy, who is also special to me.

I love you because it feels wonderful when you sleep over and climb up in my lap, or when you are scared and want to come and sleep with me.

There are so many other reasons I love you, but most of all, I love you because you are a special person that God made and brought into my life.

I will always be your Moma and will always be there for you anytime and anywhere you need me.

All my love forever and always,

Moma

This entry was posted in In pursuit of quietness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why You Are Special in God’s Eyes and Mine…..a love letter

  1. roz says:

    well written and sweet but seriously no one talks as much as Amy did…..How is cousin Bob?

  2. What a beautiful letter!

  3. Yogasavy says:

    Simply beautiful and filled with such emotions

  4. Valerie Steverson says:

    Awwww.

  5. Ginny says:

    You mean Ella, Miss Independent, as she walked the streets of New York City with purpose and determination. Who meandered through Time Square and up 5th Avenune as if she owned it. As evident in the picture above, with her Mom, wearing the 2010 celebrations sun glasses. That was fun!

  6. Ginny, you hit the nail on the head! And, by the way, she keeps asking about the tea party for all the “special” people in her life. I better get on the stick and schedule something!

Leave a Reply

